CJSA Hosts 2023 Awards Dinner and Annual General Meeting

CJSA Executive Director Josh Kruseski takes a photo with the winner of the Connecticut Young Coach Award.

The Connecticut Junior Soccer Association (CJSA) recently hosted its Annual President’s Awards Dinner and Annual General Meeting, with both events taking place at the Double Tree by Hilton Hotel in Bristol, Connecticut. The CJSA Annual President’s Awards Dinner was a sold-out event that celebrated the contributions of many teams and individuals in 2022, while the CJSA Annual General Meeting set the stage for another exciting year of youth soccer in the state.

“The Awards Dinner was such a special evening for all of us in attendance,” said Josh Krusewski, Executive Director of the Connecticut Junior Soccer Association. “The sold-out room and the energy provided throughout the night allowed us the opportunity to recognize all of the volunteers and award winners the way we should.”

A special guest at the CJSA Annual President’s Awards Dinner was Christine Huber, who served as the emcee for the event. In addition to being a multi-sport athlete in college, the University of New Haven Hall of Famer is the voice of multiple athletic programs at Yale University, as well as for the Northeast Conference Women’s Soccer Championship. The ESPN and NESN veteran has also worked as a lead analyst with the National Women’s Soccer League on CBS.

See below for a full list of the 2022 award winners and honorees who were acknowledged at the CJSA Annual President’s Awards Dinner.

  • Administrator of the Year – Zenia Marrone (Stonington Soccer Club)
  • Volunteer of the Year – Jermaine Sewell (Vernon Soccer Club)
  • Girls Recreation Coach of the Year – Steven Trudo (Danbury Youth Soccer Club)
  • Boys Recreation Coach of the Year – Michael Phipps (Glastonbury Soccer Club)
  • Girls Competitive Coach of the Year – Andy Berling (Simsbury Soccer Club)
  • Boys Competitive Coach of the Year – Evan Yardis (Portland Soccer Club)
  • Girls Premier Coach of the Year – Roland Joseph (South Central Premier Soccer Club)
  • Boys Premier Coach of the Year – Axel Mahlke (Connecticut Rush)
  • Tommy Leahy TOPSoccer Buddy of the Year – Abby Gomes (Wallingford Soccer Club)
  • TOPSoccer Coach of the Year – Christine Manasia (Simsbury Soccer Club)
  • TOPSoccer Volunteer of the Year – Dawn Dinoto (Norwalk Junior Soccer Association)
  • Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year – Allie Leahy (Wethersfield Soccer Club)
  • Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year – Joshua Lord (Southeast Soccer Club)
  • Thomas Krusewski Young Coach of the Year – Lucas Sousa (Pomperaug Soccer Club)
  • Female Referee of the Year – Andreea Rusu
  • Male Referee of the Year – Colin Fairchild
  • Mark Wollman Referee of the Year – Nedim Juraldzic
  • Female ODP Player of the Year – Lilyana Joseph (Hamden Soccer Association)
  • Male ODP Player of Year – Mason Yang (Windsor Soccer Club)
  • Special Recognition – Jaime and Tyler Jorge (Trumbull United Soccer Club)
  • Special Recognition – Swanson Family (Southington Soccer Club)
  • Special Recognition – Steve Fallon (Milford United Soccer Club)
  • Special Recognition – Michelle Haggerty (Wilton Soccer Association)
  • Special Recognition – Michael Gargiulo (North Branford Soccer Club)
  • Special Recognition – Oakwood Soccer (17U Girls Academy National Champions)
  • Special Recognition – AC Connecticut 15U Boys (USYS East Region Champions and USYS National Championship Participants)

The day after the CJSA Annual President’s Awards Dinner, the Connecticut Junior Soccer Association conducted its 2023 Annual General Meeting. At the event, it was confirmed that Bob Goldman will take over presidential responsibilities for the CJSA after Joe Conte retired following six years of service in the position.

“We thank Joe Conte for his endless years of service as a club president, district vice president, and finally, as CJSA president,” said Krusewski. “We look forward to Bob’s transition to president and all of what the future holds.”

Related Posts

Skip to content